+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Surgeon in Atlanta or Georgia?  (Read 7725 times)

SusanA

Surgeon in Atlanta or Georgia?
« on: May 22, 2007, 05:14:51 PM »
Hello Surf Hippies,
I am new to this wonderful list and to the world of OA.  I have been diagnosed with OA in my right hip and they have recommended THR.  For all the reason I read about here, I want to avoid such a distructive surgery if at all possible.  Can anyone recommend an experienced resurfacing surgeon in Georgia?  Dr Gross my be the closest surgeon for me but I wanted to check.

Thanks in advance and thanks so much for this site,
Susan

Pat Walter

• Patricia Walter
  • Administrator
  • Owner/Webmaster of Surface Hippy
    • Surface Hippy about Hip Resurfacing
Re: Surgeon in Atlanta or Georgia?
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2007, 01:36:33 PM »
Hi Susan

Welcome to the Discussion Group.  I am sorry to hear about your OA. I am sorry that I did not answer sooner.  I am the owner of the website and there are not many members of this particular group yet.  If you want to join a very active group the Yahoo Surface Hippy Group is very active. You will get over 100 emails a day.  http://health.groups.yahoo.com/group/surfacehippy/  I started as a member there several years ago and still get many of my hip stories from those members.  I just started this group a few weeks ago in an effort to have a smaller, more personal group. 

Dr. Gross is an excellent surgeon and a large number of people from the other disucssion group have used him. As you probably know from reading on my website, I believe that a person should choose a doctor with a lot of experience. You only have 2 hips and if a surgeon messes up a hip resurfacing, it could be a problem for the rest of your life. You can always revise a BHR to a THR, but that is not what you want.  You want to have a sucessful hip resurfacing that will last for years.