+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: skilled nursing facility vs at home care  (Read 2179 times)

YaYa Girl

skilled nursing facility vs at home care
« on: November 28, 2007, 10:53:26 PM »
Hi!

Newbie here although I've already had THR on one hip and am undergoing surgery Monday Dec 3rd for resurfacing. My question
is should I use a skilled nursing facility post op or should I just do physical therapy with home health care?  I can't recall being
offered either the last time.  My husband will be able to care for me the first week at home and like a lot of people are saying
on this website, everyone heals eventually.  I am 4 years older (57) than the first op, in fairly good physical shape. Just wanted
some thoughts on what some of you might have found beneficial.  Thanks in advance!

YaYaGirl

Pat Walter

• Patricia Walter
  • Administrator
  • Owner/Webmaster of Surface Hippy
    • Surface Hippy about Hip Resurfacing
Re: skilled nursing facility vs at home care
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2007, 11:18:55 PM »
Hi

Welcome to hip talk.  Is your doctor suggesting you use a skilled nursing facility post op?

I was 61 when I had my hip resurfacing.  I used Dr. De Smet in Belgium.  I was in the hospital 2 1/2 days, then went back to the Holiday Inn for 9 days. We had our PT there.  We all ate 3 meals together each day in the resturant and partied in the lounge every night. There were 8 of us.  I did have my husband with me.  He helped me with my TEDS removing them at night and putting them on in the morning.  Other than that, there was no need for any help.  I was on one crutch at 4 days and no crutch at 4 weeks.  I was sightseeing in Ghent 7 days post op with others.  We learned to do stairs in the hospital. By the time we flew home on day 10, I was walking 3/4 of a mile with one crutch.