+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Am I TOO OLD?  (Read 2779 times)

Anne

Am I TOO OLD?
« on: February 27, 2008, 09:22:32 PM »
Hi there.  Newbie here.  My surgeon just told me I'm too old for a resurfaccing implant.  Thought I would check in with y'all and see if this guy is being too conservative in his approach, or if this is actually a standard answer.  I'm a 56-year old Caucasian woman with congenital hip dysplasia which has developed into advanced arthritis.  I'm ready for surgery, as I've exhausted all options - as far as I'm concerned - over the last 16 years since the dysplasia was diagnosed.  An implant seems appropriate for me, as I'm a competitive swimmer and would hate to give up something I've loved all my life.  I'm otherwise in good shape.  The bone scan was normal, which kinda kills me.  He's turning me down solely based on my AGE.  I've lost 40 pounds over the last nine months for a surgery apparently I cannot have...  Bummer.  By the way, the weight loss made very little difference for me in terms of pain reduction.  Double bummer.  It made me faster in the water, though.

Should I consider that guy in Belgium?  De Smet?

Any thoughts?  Thanks.  Anne

hughstjust

Re: Am I TOO OLD?
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2008, 02:59:01 AM »
Nonsense - apart from general health for surgery - the only issue is bone density. The latter can be an issue due to osteoperosis particularly in women I'm told.

james

« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2008, 11:45:34 AM »
I can't believe anyone would say that. Get another surgeon.

Elaine Y.

« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2008, 07:02:24 PM »