+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Metallic Ions and pregnancy  (Read 1643 times)

Kim_Mason

Metallic Ions and pregnancy
« on: March 12, 2008, 06:12:15 PM »
Hello All,

I am new to this site and this is my first posting.  I am still learning the ropes of online communities, but regardless I am so happy to have found this site.  Here is my question:

To all the women out there...have you been pregnant after having a hip resurfacing surgery?  And if so, what did your doctor tell you about the possible effects of the metal ions to your fetus?  I am 32 years old and need resurfacing, but I am afraid of what some of these doctors are telling me about the "unknown effects" of these ions.  I feel stuck.  I'm currently bone on bone, in a lot of pain so I can't imagine being pregnant and carrying any extra weight, but if I wait until after the surgery it seems as if I can harm my unborn child.  If anyone has any info to help clear up my clouded mind, I would greatly appreciate it.

Hope to hear from you,

Kim

Pat Walter

• Patricia Walter
  • Administrator
  • Owner/Webmaster of Surface Hippy
    • Surface Hippy about Hip Resurfacing
Re: Metallic Ions and pregnancy
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2008, 09:39:49 PM »
Hi Kim
Welcome to Hip Talk.

There have been a few women that have had hip resurfacing and had normal babies afterwards.  They have posted on the Yahoo Surface Hippy Group  http://groups.yahoo.com/group/surfacehippy/

I don't remember who they were, but if you join the group you might try to do a search about pregnancy and hip resurfacing.  You could also post to see if any reading has had a baby and a hip resurfacing. I am sorry that I have not made a story about this, but don't always get to everyone that posts with an interesting story.