+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: after 7 weeks Post op  (Read 4842 times)

kellie

after 7 weeks Post op
« on: April 24, 2008, 12:05:59 PM »
I am 7 weeks post op and wondering what is the best rehab for me..... I still have trouble sleeping at night due to the psoas muscle... it hurts and wakes me up... stiff and sore... if i am still it stiffens up...how can I prevent this.  it has hurt from surgery on...

also ROM... when can you start working on abduction...and what exercises are OK for early rehab.  I do have pain in the other hip and have to get it done also...when is the best time to do that?

:)  guess I am looking for exercises and a rehab schedule for athlete

austin.m

Re: after 7 weeks Post op
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2008, 01:37:01 PM »
Kellie - I'm no expert, but my doctor basically said that any form of exercise is good - just be guided by pain. You want to work on strength as well as flexibility, and there are different exercises for each. I started working on abduction immediately, though it was the toughest exercise in the early days. I had both hips done 3 weeks ago and long walks, especially uphill (engage those glutes) were great. Any decent PT person can give you a simple set of exercises - and you probably want to talk to someone and get these exercises fairly soon. On the walking front, hills are good, as is "marching" (taking big steps and lift your knee as high as possible). Standing on one leg for 30 seconds x 10 reps was a really good strength exercise for me in the early days ( I had to alternate legs, but you can focus on one), as was lifting my leg to the side and holding it there (while standing). Most of the strength exercises can be done standing and therefore be done anywhere/anytime. Most of the stretching exercises require a surface to sit or lie on, but they're worth it as I think strength comes naturally while you need to completely retrain your hips to move in ways they haven't seen in years. Overall, it's great if you can find