+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Do I need Hip Resurfacing  (Read 2666 times)

flfiregirl

Do I need Hip Resurfacing
« on: May 20, 2008, 05:41:48 PM »
Hi All....
I'm new to this group and have just learned about hip resurfacing! I'll give you my Reader's Digest version of me: I had surgery in Oct. 07 for fermoro-acetabular impingement.  (I just turned 47.)  For the first 6 weeks everything was great... then the cortisone wore off.  Little by little, I'm experiencing the same pain as I initially had, but in a different area of the joint.  The doc (very well respected and I traveled 1500 miles to use him!) told me that there is nothing wrong with the hip other than incredible inflammation (he did another MRI with contrast).  He suggested that I rest it. I am a firefighter and took 5 months off of work.  I went back for about 8 shifts and the pain is getting worse.  I've been off work again for another 6 weeks.  My symptoms:  pain in the left joint/groin area; pain getting in and out of the car when lifting my leg, hip rotation is almost impossible, I cannot sit cross-legged on the floor.... I have degenerative bone disease, osteopenia, and early arthritis...

My question(s):  How did you know that you needed hip resurfacing?  Did you have other surgeries or treatment before the hip resurfacing?  Does insurance cover the surgery or is that individual to the insurance company?  Who is considered the most experienced here in the states?

I need to get some relief so that I can go back to work and not put my partners (and myself!) at risk by not being able to pull my own weight! 
Any information is appreciated!!! 
Thanks,
Terry

Clarkefan

Re: Do I need Hip Resurfacing
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2008, 09:24:34 PM »
Terry: