+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Hip Resurfacing with Dr. Sharat Kusuma  (Read 2020 times)

jeff asman

Hip Resurfacing with Dr. Sharat Kusuma
« on: June 10, 2013, 11:37:39 PM »
My name is Jeff Asman I am a commercial industrial painting contractor I am currently 54 years old and I live in Dublin Ohio, in 2009 I went to a orthopedic back doctor for a strained back I hurt while playing golf, my x rays revealed that I had not injured my back as I had suspected but that I had some arthritis, nothing serious, but the x rays also revealed that my left hip was bone to bone and my right hip was close, I had no idea, the doctor told me that I would need a hip replacement in a short period of time. I had absolutely no idea, and it totally freaked me out I knew that my hips had been tight for a long time but I thought it was my physical make up, I went to a orthopedic surgeon sometime in the 80's when I was running 25-35 miles a week because my hips bothered me, but he told me I was fine, in 2005-2008 the trainer I worked out with told me that I had the tightest hips he had ever seen when we stretched out, and I had multiple massage therapist tell me that my hips were very tight, to the point that I went thru agonizing sessions of Rolfing to tear the connective tissue and to help improve flexibility, It didn't help, still I had no idea that I was bone to bone or close. This started my research for the best possible solution to my hip problems, I read everything I could find online, I talked to my doctor friends and surgeons that had performed surgeries on me. I made appointments with 3 renowned local hip surgeons 2 of which perform 700-900 per year, the first surgeon that I saw confirmed that I needed both hips replaced and he told me that he performed his surgeries with a metal to metal implants, when I ask him about hip resurfacing he told me the didn't do the surgery, really nothing more. the second surgeon I saw told me he  did 800-900 hip surgeries a year, he gave me his