+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Emotional side  (Read 4112 times)

Juno

Emotional side
« on: June 27, 2013, 10:46:03 AM »
I am on the count down to my surgery date. I have been dealing with hip issues for many years -- but more acute pain and ROM issues really started in the last 8 mos. I continued on with my normal activities, teaching my high impact aerobics class 5-6x a week, teaching Pilates 3 times a week, running and working full time. After seeing a doc about my then undiagnosed hip osteo, I was, like most of you flabbergasted that I was given this diagnosis and was told I need a THR. Suddenly your world as you know it comes crashing down.

In order to reduce the incredible pain (and be able to walk!) it meant stopping all my high impact activities. I had to abandon training for a 1/2 marathon and give up my aerobic classes. I had been teaching them for 13 years! Even the elliptical machine hurts.

Acquaintances and even friends just couldn't understand why I was quitting the activities I loved. The main question was always -- when are you coming back to the gym? I could describe the issue and pain until I was blue in the face and it didn't matter. I've even had people say to me -- why are you having surgery? You seem to be walking fine. I want to scream and tell them they don't understand the agony that I try to hide daily. Only my husband really understands the restless nights, the continuous popping of Advil, and the limping after only walking 1/2 mile. I am sad that my life has had to change so much in the last 8 months. It's hard to accept sometimes. I'll even go so far to say that the old saying applies --- you find out who your friends are. I try really hard to not complain outside of the house.

I guess I'm asking you to share your emotional side of the story. Have you experienced this? What helped you? I know surgery and recovery take time, - but I'm really wanting to "prove" to some that this a real diagnosis. :)

Thanks.