+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Sharp pain in hip when yawning???  (Read 7992 times)

AmyOhio

Sharp pain in hip when yawning???
« on: August 03, 2008, 07:12:19 AM »
Hi everyone.  I am new to the sight and have a 7 week old left BHR.  I still have a considerable amount of pain and a limp but my most disturbing problem is an extremely sharp jolt of pain in my new hip whenever a take a deep breath or yawn.  HAS ANYONE ELSE EXPERIENCED THIS???  Of course I am fabricating the worst.  Amy

Pat Walter

• Patricia Walter
  • Administrator
  • Owner/Webmaster of Surface Hippy
    • Surface Hippy about Hip Resurfacing
Re: Sharp pain in hip when yawning???
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2008, 09:38:30 PM »
Hi Amy

Welcome to Hip Talk.  It is interesting about your pain when taking a deep breath or yawning.  I would be sure to ask your doctor about it.

Maybe, somehow, you are pulling some muscles that were upset during surgery.  I am not medically trained and don't know for sure, just a silly guess.

If you have a serious problem like a displaced cup or cracked femur, you would have terrible, terrible pain that would not go away.  So I would guess, it probably is not something really serious - but only your doctor can tell you.

Who was your doctor?  Where do you live in Ohio?  I live in Marietta, OH.

Pat
Webmaster/Owner of Surface Hippy
3/15/06 LBHR De Smet

TomBuell

• Right Birmingham Hip Resurfacing 7/1/08
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2008, 09:34:49 AM »
Hi Amy - That sounds like a muscular problem, as Pat said. I would ask my doctor or PT for some recommended exercises.
- Tom
RBHR 7/1/08
Dr. Ari Pressman - Pittsburgh (excellent)

AmyOhio

« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2008, 12:53:04 PM »