+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Deciding What to Do  (Read 2043 times)

george

Deciding What to Do
« on: August 04, 2008, 10:20:56 PM »
I am new to the chatroom. I have severe ostio. in left hip. Dr. gross has looked at xrays and confirmed. so has dr. De semet. I cannot even walk 75 yards anymore, without stopping. I have heard so many people on this site posting
severe problems, and only 9 year history of resurfacing, well, I am holding out. I don't know what for anymore.\

george
« Last Edit: August 06, 2008, 09:41:06 PM by Pat Walter »

Pat Walter

• Patricia Walter
  • Administrator
  • Owner/Webmaster of Surface Hippy
    • Surface Hippy about Hip Resurfacing
Re: Deciding What to Do
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2008, 08:33:47 AM »
Hi George

Welcome to Hip Talk.  I gave you your own topic in the section where more people might see it.  The chat room is a different section of the website. This is the Discussion Group where there are a lot of people to correspond with.

If you are in pain and can no long live your life, why wait?  Over 90,000 people worldwide have BHRs and others have Wright C+, Biomets, Cormets and ASRs.  Hip Resurfacing has been done since 1997 in the rest of the world. It is only the US that is behind on the technology and experienced surgeons, but we are quickly catching up.

Dr. De Smet has done over 3000 hip resurfacings and over 3000 THRs.  Dr. Gross has done over 1300 hip resurfacings.  They are both several of the best hip resurfacing surgeons in the world.  The revision rate for hip resurfacing is still very low. Once a doctor is out of the learning curve and done a hundred or more resurfacings, they seldom have problems. 

This is not new technology and is well proven.  That is why the FDA has approved both the BHR and the Cormet.