+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: post op questions from a new member  (Read 2683 times)

Liz

post op questions from a new member
« on: August 06, 2007, 08:29:44 AM »
Hi I am new here and this is the first time I have ever use this sort of message board, however I have been reading messages for a while and found it so useful and reasuring.

I am just about 3 weeks post op from a hip resurface where they did a little extra, and so I have a plate and 2 screws as well as the resurface. My surgeon removed a bit of bone to help maintain my blood supply to my bone for the future. I am 37  and had dysplasia as a child with lots of surgery but luckily not OA. I have been using crutches for 2 years since my hip suddenly started hurting and I experienced a lot of pain and found I couldn't walk. I had some surgery last summer to try and put off a resurface, and that helped a lot, but it became clear that I needed a resurface to get back to normal life.

I had the most fantastic surgeon Mr Witt at UCLH in London, who has already changed my life for the better, however, I am not seing him again for another 3 weeks and wondered if anybody could help with some of my questions. I have been told, due to the extra plate and screws I need to use my crutches for 6 weeks to allow that bone to heal, but I can put my full weight on my leg if comfortable. I must also not bend my hip more than 90%  or do the excercises where you raise your leg out to the side until I am seen again. Much of this is due to the extra surgery rather than the resurface.

I have 2 main questions.

I have been advised to walk as much as I can to build my strength and mobility. I think I am doing really well, but am not sure what most people would be able to do at this point. I manage 3 walks a day for about 15 to 20 mins each, but I'm not sure what I should be aiming for. What do you manage.? I guess it is slightly different having had the extra surgery, but maybe someone has also had that too.