+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: appt  (Read 1390 times)

cindy26

appt
« on: September 27, 2008, 08:59:25 AM »
Yeah!  I've just set up an appt with a surgeon to discuss hip resurfacing.  I am going to use Dr jenkins in johnson city, tennessee.   He is knew to TN but he specialized in hip surgery in Mississippi.  My nursing supervisior at my jobs mother works for him and says he is wonderful.  She said he has a great repetation.  My appt is Oct 8th. 

My problem is I have already had 2 back surgeries this year.  I work full time as a nurse in a pain clinic.  We are a very busy organization.  One of our nurses is scheduled for surgery oct 7th for ACL repair in her knee.  Since I have already used my Family Medical Leave they are making me wait until she gets back.  She is estimated to be off 8 weeks.  I am hurting really bad and I don't know if I can stand it that long.  My job is very busy with alot of walking.   It hurts so bad to walk.  I don't know what to do.   The director of our office ask me if I could wait that long and I told him I would try.  I also told him if I wasn't hurting very bad then why would I see my surgeon.  I have been a very good employee for 3.5 yrs.  I just have had a terrible year this year.  So its really not doing me any good to see this guy so soon but atleast I can go ahead and schedule surgery.  I am going to schedule it for the day after she comes back if I can make it that long.  I am taking pain meds, NSAIDS, and muscle relaxors, but I still feel as if my hip is rubbing bone to bone.   I don't thing pain meds are going to really help.  I saw my PCP the other day and he told me he would help me in anyway he can to make it until surgery date. 

Pat Walter

• Patricia Walter
  • Administrator
  • Owner/Webmaster of Surface Hippy
    • Surface Hippy about Hip Resurfacing
Re: appt
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2008, 07:08:47 PM »
Hi Cindy

Welcome to Hip Talk.  I am sorry to hear about your hip problems.