+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Cycling after surgery  (Read 8072 times)

Whit

Cycling after surgery
« on: July 10, 2009, 11:18:53 AM »
Hi,

I'm new to the web site.  I was reading some old posts about cycling.  I am 5 weeks post op and doing well (LBHR).  I went back to work in three weeks and started walking without a cane at four weeks.  I have been walking in the water and swimming laps with a float between my knees (Dr. said no kicking). 

I am curious about cycling.  I am dying to get back on my bike, but have some concerns.  How do cyclists get by without breaking the 90 degree rule? Also, how do you clip out without turning you leg in?  I am hoping to to a little riding before I have to have my right hip resurfaced in December.

Thanks!
LBHR 06/04/2009 Dr. Ward
RBHR 01/14/2010 Dr. Ward

UPwingnut

Re: Cycling after surgery
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2009, 01:26:11 PM »
I'm at 8 weeks and my doc just gave me the "go" to do any exercise that doesn't cause me discomfort. I had asked about biking and skating. I intend to try biking this weekend but will have help there in case I need it. I really think I'll be fine, but things have gone SO well, that I don't want to mess up the works!! I had heard that getting on the bike was the worst part, so I asked for input on this site (in the hockey part) and received this reply...

Hey UP,

Congratulations on your recovery! For biking, you're right the most difficult part is getting on and off. When getting on, tilt the bike toward you and let it go as low as it needs to for you to clear it with your operated side. Then get on and ride easy an easy, flat route. Go with an easy gear and spin at around 80-90 rpm. Don't try and push it until you build a base and increase the length of your ride by small increments over the next several weeks. Listen to your body and you'll be hammering soon. Best of Luck!

spencer

I hope things continue to go well with your recovery.
Take care,
Joe