+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Trying to get new insurance after resurfacing  (Read 3941 times)

tofu55

Trying to get new insurance after resurfacing
« on: December 13, 2009, 02:29:01 PM »
I am looking into getting new health insurance. I just applied with Humana. I told them I had my right hip resurfaced in May. They came back with a permanent rider on my right hip and a minimum of two year rider on my entire body for osteoarthritis, arthritis or rheumatism. Has anyone else had this concern?

Nancy

Gav

• Preston, Lancashire, England
Re: Trying to get new insurance after resurfacing
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2009, 07:27:41 AM »
Hi Nancy

I work in the UK in the insurance business!!!! It might be a bit different over here, but if you apply for medical cover for the first time, you will be underwritten and certain things would be excluded from the policy, or a moratorium applied. However, once you have been accepted they are permanent covers, and the insurer is obliged to keep you on as long as you continue to pay the premiums. Premiums go up each year due to medical claims inflation, and they are morbidity rated.

However, in UK it might be possible to transfer from one provider to another on a protected underwriting basis, meaning that the new insurer buys the business in but cannot underwrite the applicant again. We did this a few years ago when we changed provider.

It does not surprise me that any potential provider would make such restrictions, as we are more likely to have further problems as we get older. Remember they are not charities!!!! :-[
4th September 2009, Mr McLauchlan, Preston

DePuy ASR  Right Hip-

No worries now!!!!!!!!!!!

tofu55

« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2009, 11:48:10 AM »
"but if you apply for medical cover for the first time, you will be underwritten and certain things would be excluded from the policy"