+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Hip Resurfacing in Pre-Collapse (painful) AVN  (Read 2304 times)

tennis07

Hip Resurfacing in Pre-Collapse (painful) AVN
« on: February 11, 2010, 01:43:31 AM »
Hi Everyone! So I'm new to Surface Hippies but an avid poster on the Osteonecrosis Yahoo support group! But it seem's I've hit a snag and would appreciate any advice that you all may have for me.

Background: I'm a 20 year old guy that has been dealing with chronic health issues since the age of 12. I have Interstitial Lung disease, RA, Sjogren's, Common Variable Immunodeficiency, Asthma, Avascular necrosis in both femoral heads and both distal femurs and poximal tibias! From the ages of 12-17 I was on daily prednisone/solumedrol use (never got below 40 mgs/day). Then my lungs were near the point of Lung transplant that we had to use Pulse Solumedrol which consists of 3000mg of Solumedrol (which is 4 times stronger than Pred) for 3 days every Month...so yes..9000MG of solumedrol every month! Crazy I know..Oh and the best part was that nobody ever warned be that this could happen! Now I'm on Methotrexate, TNF inhibitors, Plaquenil, IVIG, and inhaled steroids and some solumedrol.