+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Physical Conditioning w/t Rehabilitaion Options  (Read 6713 times)

RReynolds

Physical Conditioning w/t Rehabilitaion Options
« on: February 23, 2010, 10:37:13 PM »
Hello,
I'm a martial artist preparing myself for a March 22 Resurface procedure and was hoping someone could share a post-op workout that could be performed in conjunction with the "standard" rehabilition regiment. I have spent many years in core conditioning and have concerns regarding the post op recovery period. Any ideas for exercise options that won't comprimise the procedure would be greatly appreciated.

Clarkefan

Re: Physical Conditioning w/t Rehabilitaion Options
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2010, 01:21:53 PM »
Hello: As always, consult with your surgeon. I did, however, begin a very vigorous upper body exercise regime after I had my staples removed (made showering easier). I carefully selected machines that did not violate my precautions (and I could prop crutches against) -- this included machines that isolated muscle groups from the waist up, so no strain was placed on the hip and leg. In a high-end fitness club I found 5-6 machines that helped keep me active until all restrictions were lifted -- so it really depends on your gym. Avoid exercises that allow your legs to dangle (pull-ups, etc.). I found them uncomfortable.

Now, today, 1.5 years later I just completed a lunch-time workout 1/2 hour on a 'spinning' bike, 130 lb sets on a hip abductor, free weights, and punching and kicking a speed bag. Good luck.

roosevelt heights

« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2010, 09:46:23 PM »
1 M post op...I am "water walking" w/ leg weights, and it is great way revive the lower body...

Pat Walter

• Patricia Walter
  • Administrator
  • Owner/Webmaster of Surface Hippy
    • Surface Hippy about Hip Resurfacing
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2010, 09:33:39 AM »
Hi RReynolds