+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: can arthritic hip cause knee pain/swelling  (Read 11367 times)

leggy

can arthritic hip cause knee pain/swelling
« on: April 13, 2010, 08:13:00 AM »
Hi I am a newbie to this site, I found it because I need a hip resurface/replacement.
I am waiting to hear about a consultation, will then have quite a wait for surgery on the NHS, as I am in the UK.
I get pain around my buttock, in my groin, outside of the hip, down to my knee, however this last 2 days, my knee feels tight & swollen.
This is a new one to me, I have been doing more recently, the weather has picked up ( at last ) & I have done a little bit in the garden.
I am just hoping it is because of my hip, not arthritis in my knee as well!!
Anybody know?
Thanks, hoping for some replies...........

Pat Walter

• Patricia Walter
  • Administrator
  • Owner/Webmaster of Surface Hippy
    • Surface Hippy about Hip Resurfacing
Re: can arthritic hip cause knee pain/swelling
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2010, 08:29:25 AM »
Hi

Welcome to Hip Talk.

Any time you have some joint in your body not working properly, it causes the rest of the body to compensate.  Hip problems can cause knee problems, back problems, foot problems, etc.  The body is balanced and hopefully works rather symetrically.  When you are favoring a hip or limping due to pain, the rest of the body is taking on more load and not balanced.  So once you get your hip replaced, hopefully, you knee and back problems will get better.  Often the unoperated hip gets very sore before and after surgery since it takes on a lot more load due to the operated hip.

Pat
Webmaster/Owner of Surface Hippy
3/15/06 LBHR De Smet

PaulUK

« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2010, 04:06:50 PM »
Hi Leggy,