+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Are you ready yet?  (Read 2708 times)

whozethere

Are you ready yet?
« on: November 08, 2007, 11:41:27 AM »
My hip resurfacing is scheduled for mid January.  I was thrilled to find out I was a candidate , yet almost out of the window when resurfacing could be done.  Your posts scare me a little.   My surgeon has years of experience with THR, but he has only done a resurfacing or two.  I do know his stats with THR are excellent.  Sadly, it's an insurance issue and I have no choice on where to go.  I am a nurse and the hospital where I work is self insured.  If anyone in our system offers the procedure, I cannot elect to go elsewhere unless I can pay for the surgery myself.

I find the "are you ready for surgery" piece to be the hardest decision.  I have seen two orthopedist for the first time since I was a teen and I still find the decision to be difficult. 

I was in a car wreck 35 years ago and fractured my pelvis at the age of 13.  I had a crusty old orthopedist who first told me it would be 4-6 months before I would be done with crutches, wheelchairs, walkers, etc.  He went away for a month and I loved his associate who was so kind.  The first doctor returned, cursing, screaming, etc.  My mother requested my care be turned over to the doctor I liked, so I was walked and discharged from the hospital by the crusty doctor with no type of PT or anything.  On a return visit, the next year, he screamed "you are the girl who did not want me for her doctor."