+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: The things I didn't expect in the post op period  (Read 10217 times)

andybc

• Right BHR November 25 2010 Sarah Muirhead-Allwood
The things I didn't expect in the post op period
« on: December 03, 2010, 11:15:17 AM »
I thought I would post this because the vast majority of peoples' accounts suggest they sailed through  hip resurfacing with no problems at all and it seemed just like a minor inconvenience for a few days!

Now I've delved deeper into the various postings of personal accounts, I realise that some have been about post op pain etc., but, for the most part they are either written by fantastically stoical people or those whose memories are slightly impaired!

I write this as one who is 7 days post op; very pleased to have had a BHR done, but actually in more pain now than I was before - which I didn't expect.

I'm 60, 5'11", 82 kg and moderately fit.

Maybe I should add that, even though I'm a doctor, I have found this site incredibly useful. I'm not an orthopod, I'm a radiologist. So although I know what's going on with the xray, what I knew about the practicalities of having it done was pretty minimal.

No need to reiterate making a good choice of surgeon. Most of us won't have the opportunity to choose an anaesthetist but I was fortunate to have one who has worked very closely with the surgeon for 10 years and can give the "lightest" anaesthetic possible so you're able to mobilise the same day of the op.

Anyway, here are a few suggestions/some of the things I experienced: