+-

Author Topic: How were you doing at four weeks?  (Read 2010 times)

Aerial

How were you doing at four weeks?
« on: October 01, 2011, 07:44:23 PM »
Hello all- For my surgery, I am fortunate to be able to take two weeks off of work followed by two weeks when the University I work at is closed for the holidays.  My question is, how were you doing at 4 weeks?  I am a professor and a department chair so once I go back, there is no easing into it especially at the start of a new semester.  Were you mentally and physically ready for a full work day?  My work does involve a lot of standing and getting from building to building on a campus where parking is a real issue. Were most of you pretty much walking on your own at that point?  As far as Dr. Gross's protocol goes my bone density checked out just fine so I am on the rapid recovery program (pending no surprises during the surgery).  I don't want to go back too soon.  I did that after my hip arthroscopic surgery and it was very tough plus I think it delayed recovery time.
Right hip resurfacing with Dr. Gross on 12/5/11!

jjmclain

Re: How were you doing at four weeks?
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2011, 09:44:52 PM »
Hi Aerial,

I had a 90 degree restriction until 4 weeks. I was on 2 crutches at first with 50% weight bearing and then 1 crutch at 3 weeks. At 4 weeks post-op, all restrictions were lifted and I walked (rather slowly at first but with no limp) out of the surgeon's office. I could have gone back to work, but I am a fitness instructor and decided to take off 7 weeks and go back to work after the holidays were over. There are a lot of people who went back to work after a couple of weeks. I was walking on my own at 4 weeks but really enjoyed having those extra 3 weeks over the holidays. I think the walking from building to building will help you and if I recall you are an athlete and young so I think you will be fine!

Luanna

« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2011, 09:49:41 PM »
Hi Aerial,