+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Anterior Approach Experiences  (Read 4742 times)

mslendzion

Anterior Approach Experiences
« on: November 02, 2011, 08:03:10 PM »
My doctor performs the BHR using the anterior approach.  Has anyone had experience with this the anterior entry.   My surgery is in January.
Left BHR 1/9/12 Dr. Schmitt

Dannywayoflife

Re: Anterior Approach Experiences
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2011, 08:17:40 PM »
Hi mate welcome! Who is your dr? I'm no expert but I believe most of the top surgeons use the anterior approach 90% of the time. Of course they sometimes use others for various reasons so I hear. I'm sure pat or chuck will be along shortly to give you a little more detail.
You will find this site a great help with your journey! It's a great place for info and support.
Danny
Train hard fight easy
LBHR 10/11/2011 Mr Ronan Treacy Birmingham England
60mm cup 54mm head
Rbhr 54mm head 60mm cup 12/02/15 Ronan Treacy ROH Birmingham England
;)

mslendzion

« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2011, 08:33:09 PM »
Dr. Schmitt in Michigan.  How did your procedure go?  I hope you are doing well.

obxpelican

« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2011, 08:39:12 PM »
Actually it's the posterior approach that is used by most of the top hip surgeons.

Somewhere on Pat's site Dr. McMinn discusses the Anterolateral approach.  Dr. Mont uses this approach and so do several other doctors.  There have been some concerns where patients, especially larger patients do not respond well to the anterolateral approach because of the amount of retraction required.  Many patients end up with a permanent limp because of the trauma to soft tissue and nerves due to the heavy retraction.  Again, if you read the info here on Pat's site you'll find McMinn discussing this.