+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Surgery Scheduled in Berlin with Dr. Völker  (Read 3357 times)

Sean

Surgery Scheduled in Berlin with Dr. Völker
« on: April 03, 2008, 06:42:05 PM »

Hallo,

I'm a Newbie here and let me just say right off the bat how much this site has helped me in my research on resurfacing and my decision to finally go ahead with it.  Thank you!

I am 42 yrs old and was diagnosed with coxarthrose in both hips in 2003.  I've been an athlete my whole life.  Played varsity baseball in high school, moved on to competitive martial arts and ended up being a professional ballet dancer in the U.S. and over here in Germany.  I quit my professional dancing career in 2001, in part because of the pain in one of my hips, but have continued to teach taijiquan and kung fu in my martial arts school. 

Well, let's just say that in the last five years I've noticed my ROM steadily decrease, especially in the left hip, and the pain steadily increase.  I've been limping around for years now, and couldn't run to catch a bus if I had to!  I don't demonstrate any kicking techniques anymore in kung fu class, and even teaching taijiquan is painful.  I realize that if things keep getting worse at this pace I will have to give up teaching martial arts in a couple of years.  Athleticism was always so second nature to me, and to see myself deteriorating like this at such a young age has been really depressing.