+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: running and jumping. Why the differences?  (Read 2176 times)

teaching tennis

running and jumping. Why the differences?
« on: August 01, 2012, 07:03:42 PM »
Hi all, new guy.  I have been the luckiest BHR patient ever.  I have been pain free since about a week after surgery.  By riding a stationary bike and doing the home rehab that Dr. Brooks (cleveland clinic) ordered, I have had complete range of motion for the last two weeks, same time that I threw the sticks out the window,  and have been able to cross my legs "man style" for the first time in 7-8 years.  As a tennis teaching pro, I have decided to go back to work with young kids only, because that requires no running or jumping.  I FEEL GREAT!!!!
My topic is the variance of Doctor recommendations on when to start running, jumping and weight use.  I have been told by Dr. Brooks that all of that must wait a year from surgery.  The posts on this site vary from 4 months to a year.  I have noticed that most breaks or dislocations seem to occur in the first 3-4 months.  Help me please.  I'm chopping at the bit.  My son is a 3rd year otho resident and his view is,  your doctor did a great job in the OR, now you need to do a great job out of OR by listening to him.  I want to.  I just feel so good that I want to keep pushing my body.  Advice/ Comments

Spanielsal

Re: running and jumping. Why the differences?
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2012, 08:11:21 PM »
Hi Teacher, why take the risk? 
I'm a Hippy Hybrid!  L HR Cormet 2000 - Mr Villar, 12th June 2003 and R Corin mini hip - Mr Villar 7th August 2012

hernanu

« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2012, 08:49:17 PM »
Hey, welcome to the site! great that your HR is going so well.