+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Any other pilots that have HSR surgery?  (Read 2172 times)

bosoxgordon

Any other pilots that have HSR surgery?
« on: January 09, 2013, 08:29:20 PM »
I thought I'd try a new thread to see if there is anyone else out there like me. I am a professional pilot and am probably going to be having hip resurfacing surgery in the next few months. I have done my research and am pretty sure what to expect and how to handle it as far as returning to work and dealing with the FAA. However I thought I'd put the question out there to see if there is anyone else that works as a pilot that has had the surgery. Dr. Gross told me I could be back flying in 6 weeks. I'm curious if that has played out to be true in anyone else's experience. Any other feedback you may have would be great as well. Thanks again to Pat and everyone out here for all the great information.
Scott

Dr. Gross Left Uncemeted Biomet 11/13/2013

phillwad

Re: Any other pilots that have HSR surgery?
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2013, 08:32:51 PM »
Sorry I can not help.  I fly most weeks and have become "friendly" with TSA - my 2 hips even set off the body scanners.  No big deal - just happens everytime - learn to enjoy it  :-\

patrick_d

« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2013, 09:56:44 PM »
I am not a pilot (I have completed ground school and do have a little stick time), but I do have new hip from Dr. Gross.  I can tell you that I was driving with no problems at 6 weeks, however I found it very difficult to sit in my truck bucket seat for more than about 90 minutes without wanting to get up and do some walking.  On my 3½ drive down to Columbia for my 6 week appointment I took 2 breaks for a 10-15 minute walk.

I think you will be a bit stiff and sore after flying for that long too.  I found that putting a pillow on the seat helped reduce the pressure on the incision and that made things a bit more comfortable, but not perfect.