+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: TWO Year Anniversary! Woo Hoo!!  (Read 2239 times)

23109VC

TWO Year Anniversary! Woo Hoo!!
« on: February 21, 2013, 01:48:31 AM »
Hi Everyone.  It's been a while since I have posted on this site...  probably because my hip is doing so well.....   :)

I can't believe it has been two years already!

I turned 40 this year.  I had my hip done when I was 38. My hip started bugging me when I was in my late 20s.  it started out mild, it was more of a mild discomfort.  I still played racquetball, jogged, and did whatever I wanted.  by the time I was in my early 30s, it was clearly a problem.  I gave up most sports, and was limited to the stairmaster for aerobic exercise.  I am an attorney and work at a desk or in a courtroom so I can get by without being physically fit in terms of work.  I sort of adapted to being more sedentary and dealt with the pain by popping aleve and other anti inflammatories.  My doctor suggested a hip resurfacing, and I watched a youtube video about how the surgery was done - that freaked me out as I was so grossed out by the procedure...that alone made me put off surgery at least a year or two. :)  The pain was constant but manageable..at least I thought it was.  I have three small kids and it was becoming obvious that I wasn't able to play sports with them the way I wanted.  There were times when just pushing the kids stroller was too painful and I had to have my wife do it. When it finally got to where I was having a continual problem getting my shoes tied or cutting toenails that I really started realizing how debilitated I had become.  One time in my late 30s my youngest son who was about 3 took off running, he was headed toward the street and I was worried a car might hit him. I tried to run after him and I literally could not catch up to him. My wife outran me and got him.  All of these issues forced me to face the reality that surgery was for me.  I started researching doctors and did some local consults. I