+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: How long out of work?  (Read 3419 times)

Renee P

How long out of work?
« on: May 19, 2008, 06:35:07 PM »
I'm wondering about how long people are out of work after resurfacing.  I work in a school and would prefer to be resurfaced in the summer so I don't miss any work (it's a new job).  I have an appointment on July 3rd and chances are if my hip is ready for the surgery, the surgeon might not have available dates until the fall.  So, I could wait until next summer, but I don't want to miss the window of opportunity if it's now.

My job is about 50% sitting and 50% on my feet.

Tarhoo2

Re: How long out of work?
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2008, 10:23:40 PM »
Renee,

I've had two BHR's in the last 5 months.  I have an office job, but am up and around and out and about alot.  I was out of the office 4-5 weeks both times, but probably could have been back in the office at 3-4 weeks.  For me, the big issue was being ready to drive, especially with the right side.  There seems to be a wide variation in how long people are restricted in their activities, depending upon the doctor and the individual, but I think 4-5 weeks on average seems reasonable, at least from my experience.  BTW, I'm 48 and in reasonably decent shape.  I would add that, while I have some stiffness (I'm 6 weeks post-op on my secod BHR), I have no pain and expect to be pretty much back to my "old self," including playing golf, by late summer or so.  Having been in pain from OA for the last 5-7 years, this is quite a relief.  Hope you're able to work things out.

Jim

xocy

« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2008, 07:12:46 AM »
I have an option of doing some of my work from home. What would prevent me from office work, calling clients on the phone, etc. from home directly after the surgery. Is the post op pain so bad that I will not want to do this? If you have a driver, can you travel by car immediately after the surgery?
Mike
Bilateral
Dr. Thomas Gross
Left 6/23/08  Right 6/25/08