+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Scheduled for July -- Thank you all  (Read 2476 times)

Juno

Scheduled for July -- Thank you all
« on: May 11, 2013, 09:52:56 PM »
Hi, I am new to this site and wanted to send a Thank YOU to everyone who has posted before me -- the information on this site is invaluable. What a Godsend.

I am a 48 yr. old woman who has been active all my life. Up until 9 weeks ago I've taught high impact aerobics since college. I have run several 1/2 marathons (the most recent in Nov 2012); I cycle, I hike, I love to weight train and do power yoga flow. I'm also a Registered Nurse and a Personal Trainer. I've had "hip flexor" pain off and on for 5-6 years. Never in my wildest dreams did I think I might actually have issues with my hip joints! (since none of you did either, I guess I should just join the group!) :)

This past year I have had significant pain in my hip flexor, gluteals and radiating knee pain. I could tell my ROM was diminishing.  Sleeping became difficult and getting comfortable sitting for any length of time became painful. I would get thru teaching my aerobic class on pure adrenaline and then suffer afterwards -- sometimes not being able to get out of the car after driving home. I was limping all the time. I've tried weekly massage, ART and even saw a Chiropractor. What really pushed me to finally make an appt with an orthopaedic doctor was two-fold -- My husband and I went to Disney World (sans kids -- my children are college age) and I could barely walk more than 1/4 mile without having to stop and stretch or sit -- the limping got so intense. Several weeks after that we were flying on a 2 hour flight to visit our son at college and the plane ride just about did me in -- the pain in my back and glutes was so intense.