+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: 6 mos Post Op by the numbers  (Read 3196 times)

Manofword

6 mos Post Op by the numbers
« on: June 11, 2013, 09:54:25 PM »
I am just past 6 mos Post Op and wanted to post what I've been able to do since I started training again. NOTE: This is not recommended for anyone to go at the pace I've gone. I'm just chronicling my recovery and what I've done. Follow your recovery protocol.

I run 53 mi.
I've biked 500 mi.
I've swam 25 mi.

None of it aggressive. Running is 10 min/mi or just a little under at 9:30/mi.
I am up 20 mph avg on my bike.
Swimming is 2:00/100m

Pain is gone. Limp is gone. No noise. Internal scar tissue is greatly minimized through massaging it. My quick step has returned and I can take long & strong strides w/o any discomfort! I am truly blessed!
Phil. 4:13  -  RBHR Dr. Brooks 11-28-12 Euclid Hospital/Cleve. Clinic (48/56) (no more pain!)

evant

Re: 6 mos Post Op by the numbers
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2013, 03:56:58 AM »
Great 6 month update.

You've put in a lot of work so long may you enjoy every minute of it.
rbhr 3 january 2013
mr ronan treacy
royal orthopaedic hospital, birmingham, england

hernanu

« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2013, 10:03:12 AM »
Good work.

No pain, getting back to your life is the goal. You'll still recover and strengthen for the next couple of years, so all good.

Congrats.
Hernan, LHR 8/24/2010, RHR 11/29/2010 - Cormet, Dr. Snyder

chuckm

« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2013, 11:29:01 AM »
That's amazing. How soon after surgery did you "start training again". I began to introduce very light impact once per week at 4-1/2 months and then heavy at about 5-1/2 months...much to the chagrin of many on this site I'm sure.

Chuckm
Left BHR 11/30/12
Hospital for Special Surgery
46 years old

podgornymd

« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2013, 08:22:54 PM »