+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: time to get it resurfaced....competitive BJJ future?  (Read 20223 times)

surratt

time to get it resurfaced....competitive BJJ future?
« on: July 06, 2013, 11:08:06 AM »
Awesome!  This website is a godsend, you have no idea how much comfort I have gotten from this place.  You feel kind of alone with your problems and a place like this kind of givers you a home.

Well Ive been doing mma since around 2005 and just recently 2 years ago got obsessed with the gi, I recently moved to Atlanta to pursue jiu jitsu at a higher level and am loving it here training at Alliance.   Im training 6 days a week and harder than I ever have and getting better quick but this hip is my main roadblock.  It has gotten pretty bad over the past year and there are some days i can barely walk.  The severity comes and goes.  I have been putting this off bc im making such good gains in my game and the thought of 6 months off depresses me.

Ha but this is how i know im ready, the pain is so bad i actually want to do it now...the thought of getting the constant pain and limp out of my life is pretty wild.   Considering 100 years ago id be a cripple at 35 most likely.. ( im 31 now).

I guess im just trying to meet any fellow jiu jitsu guys or kickboxing and let me know anything you think i should know.  Will i be able to still compete at jiu jitsu and what is the best possible time of recovery im looking at?  From what i am reading it appears as i will not be able to do any serious training for at least 6 months.  That is terrible to think about but it has to be done.

Also im wondering if i can focus on boxing while i heal up around the 3 month mark....seems like that would not be near as bad on my hips as something like jiu jitsu.  As long as I can find something to dedicate myself to and throw up some goals in im fine.

Thanks in advance for any help guys!

Jeremy
Bilateral Hip resurface Dr. Gross
12/13/17
12/15/17

hernanu