+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: How do you know?  (Read 4804 times)

greateressex

How do you know?
« on: August 05, 2013, 08:44:49 PM »
Hi. I'm new to this.  I'm scheduled for hip resurfacing in September. I'm just wondering for those people that had this done when did you know you were ready for this.  Did you second guess yourself? Did you think before the surgery something will go wrong ? Or is this a common theme before surgery. Do you not just wait til the pain is unbearable before you go through with it.  Some days the pain is not bad but some days you cant walk.How do you know the doctor advice is the right one? A lot of thing go through your head.  Its crazy.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2013, 08:46:08 PM by greateressex »

catfan

Re: How do you know?
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2013, 08:52:13 PM »
I was in no means in serious pain before I had the surgery, but decided I wanted to regain the ability to do activities I was given up.  For example I wanted to be able to take a hike with my wife and not be afraid to go to far fearing the pain would start. 

I could have waited several years until the pain got so bad I could not stand it, but I knew at some point I would need to do something so why not address the issue now versus suffering for 2,3,4,5 more years.

I am only 4+ weeks into my hip resurfing and feel I made the right decision, but only time will tell...

Good luck with your surgery...

greateressex

« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2013, 09:16:21 PM »
Thanks. I hope it goes well.  Did you do anything thing different before your surgery.  Exercise your hip muscles,lose weight? Is it true if you strengthen your hip muscles it helps recovery?

curtieman1

« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2013, 10:17:18 PM »