+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: MLB pitcher Colby Lewis to get a hip resurfacing!  (Read 1425 times)

Arrojo

MLB pitcher Colby Lewis to get a hip resurfacing!
« on: August 19, 2013, 10:59:57 AM »
I like to think my athletic achievements with my new hip are pretty good (see http://surfacehippy.info/hiptalk/hip-resurfacing-topics/silver-medal-in-50-meter-dash-at-ct-senior-games/  - shameless plug), but I am not a professional athlete.

Colby Lewis on the other hand, will become the first professional athlete in the four major sports (baseball, football, basketball, hockey) to attempt to return to his profession after hip resurfacing!  He hasn't pitched this year, but has won 44 games over 8 seasons and was one of Texas's best pitchers in 2010 and 2011, including the post-season.

He will be having it done by Dr. Su in NYC.  What terrific publicity for us Hippys!  Go Colby!  We are all rooting for your comeback in 2014!

Here is the story from mlb.com:  http://mlb.mlb.com/news/article.jsp?ymd=20130813&content_id=56854882&notebook_id=56866960&vkey=notebook_tex&c_id=tex

"ARLINGTON -- Colby Lewis will undergo right hip resurfacing surgery next week in New York. The surgery is an alternative to hip replacement surgery, where the ball of the hip isn't replaced. Lewis had about five bone spurs in the hip, and the doctors told Lewis he wouldn't receive the range needed if they just cleaned the bone spurs.

"It's not a full reconstruction, but it's basically more dealt for active lifestyles," Lewis said. "This is the point that it's come to."

The procedure will be done by Dr. Ed Su, who told Lewis he should be ready to go in six months. Lewis said Su's patients can walk a mile seven days a week after the surgery.