+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Anyone with Stickler's Syndrome? Need opinions please!  (Read 2307 times)

martinbeef

Anyone with Stickler's Syndrome? Need opinions please!
« on: June 08, 2008, 06:19:44 PM »
hello. i'm so glad i found this site. my husband is 51 years old and has Stickler's Syndrome. he needs two total hip replacements. because he is still quite active (we have a 300 acre farm), i started doing research on conservative approaches. (I am a nurse and know the risks with total hip replacemen). we like what we are reading on the hip resurfacing, but are wondering if it would be a viable option for him since he has Stickler's syndrome? Anyone out there with Stickler's? (it's a connective tissue disorder).

Also, any advice on a good surgeon in Greater Cincinnati, Ohio area?

God bless and thank you so much.   susan

Pat Walter

• Patricia Walter
  • Administrator
  • Owner/Webmaster of Surface Hippy
    • Surface Hippy about Hip Resurfacing
Re: Anyone with Stickler's Syndrome? Need opinions please!
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2008, 10:28:59 PM »
Hi

Welcome to Hip Talk.  I live in Marietta, OH and I traveled to Belgium to Dr. De Smet because I was older and many US doctors would not normally give me hip resurfacing.

I will suggest that if you husband has special problems, he seeks out one of the really experienced hip resurfacing surgeons.  They will not be in Ohio.  The most experienced ones I know in OH are Dr. Brooks with 200.  That however, would probably not be enough if your husband has a really special problem.

Dr. Gross in SC has done over 1300 hip resurfacings and many difficult cases. Dr. Su in NY has done over 500.  You can see both their info here  http://www.surfacehippy.info/listofdoctors.php

Dr. Gross will give you a free consutation if you send him an email and either attach the x-rays digitally in .jpg format or just send them to him.  He will call you on the phone.  Usually takes a couple weeks.