+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Is 26 too young?  (Read 6205 times)

Mark.D

Is 26 too young?
« on: October 17, 2013, 12:28:14 PM »
Hi guys,

Im new here, have done some reading on the resurfacing but when it says for active younger patients most people are still around 40. I am only 26 years old, suffering badly with arthritis and bone spurs in my left hip. Im pretty sure its relating to a bad accident I was in 7years ago. I work on cars for a living and cant do anything active anymore, hardly make it through a days work cant sleep at night etc. Im nervous that getting this operation done at only 26 what will happen in the future if it fails. Is a resurfaced hip the only option or is there other tactics to consider. I am doing physio, drinking a ton of water and have started glucosamine. I have been waiting a while to see the local orthopedic department on what they suggest. Any and all info would be great. Thanks,

Mark

hernanu

Re: Is 26 too young?
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2013, 01:28:02 PM »
Hey Mark, welcome to the site... I'm sorry you're dealing with this, but treat it like any other illness, sometimes it strikes people who are not typical.

You've already been diagnosed with osteoarthritis?

We have several younger folks here who for any number of reasons had their hips go on them and had HRs or THRs. I'll let them chime in...

Again, welcome and ask anything, we've been where you are.
Hernan, LHR 8/24/2010, RHR 11/29/2010 - Cormet, Dr. Snyder

Mark.D

« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2013, 01:53:16 PM »
Thank you

Yes I have been diagnosed with osteoarthritis

Dannywayoflife

« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2013, 01:54:46 PM »
Hay Mark! Welcome!

I was a young resurfacing patient at 28 at the time of my operation. If you have the symptoms that you have now its time to take action mate. You can leave it too long and do irreversible damage and end up with a thr.