+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: advice, please  (Read 2541 times)

Julia Ingram

advice, please
« on: June 20, 2008, 11:36:20 AM »
Hello,
I just joined this group and may have posted my question in the wrong place, so hear it is again.  I'm scheduled for total hip replacement July 7th.  I can't figure out how long to plan to be off work.  I'm a therapist, so it is very sedentary work.
Is 3 weeks off realistic (in general)?  I'm a strong and healthy 68 year old woman.  Any advice will be appreciated
Julia

Pat Walter

• Patricia Walter
  • Administrator
  • Owner/Webmaster of Surface Hippy
    • Surface Hippy about Hip Resurfacing
Re: advice, please
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2008, 12:18:34 PM »
Hi Julia

Welcome to Hip Talk.  I gave you your own topic.

This group is about hip resurfacing.  It is quite different than a THR in that the femur bone is not cut off.  It is reshaped at the top and then is capped with a metal cup. THere is also a cup placed in the acetabulum just as in a THR.  It is bone conserving compared to a THR.

I just wanted to make sure you understood - I am sure you did since you are a therapist.

Hip resurfacing patients normally recover faster than a THR.  I know many will argue the point, but I was on one crutch at 4 days and none at 4 weeks.  No pain meds after leaving the hospital and I can now do anything I want.

I tried to do some PT when I came home from Belgium about 15 days post op - but they only kept me 2 sessions since they said I was so far ahead of a THR patient that they did not know what to do with me.

I do know some THR patients do recover quickly too.  But - hip resurfacing and THRs are both major surgeries.  There is no way to predict your recovery time.  Some people like me who are not in good physical condition and older, recover quickly while some athletes in prime condition take a long time.  It is up to your own body.