+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Suggestions for Dr. Gross' Phase II Exercises  (Read 3786 times)

Comfortably Numb

Suggestions for Dr. Gross' Phase II Exercises
« on: June 13, 2015, 03:47:14 PM »
I'm just beginning to get familiar with Dr. Gross' Phase II exercises and I've already run into a couple of problems.  Let me begin by saying that I've always had very tight hamstrings.  When attempting the Quad Stretches, I can barely grasp my ankle.  If I'm not careful, I can roll this into a groin issue.  Have any of you tied a rope or strap to your ankle at first so as to lengthen the pull?

My other problem is with the PSOAS Stretching.  There is no doubt that I need an exercise like this because of my groin tightness, but my hamstring begins to go into a "Charlie horse" before I can even see what this exercise is supposed to do.  Has anyone dealt with this problem?

thanks 
Right HR, April 29, 2015, Dr. Gross and Lee Webb; Uncemented Biomet Magnum 60/54 and Recap AHA 54;
30 degree angle

hernanu

Re: Suggestions for Dr. Gross' Phase II Exercises
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2015, 10:47:54 PM »
I'm just beginning to get familiar with Dr. Gross' Phase II exercises and I've already run into a couple of problems.  Let me begin by saying that I've always had very tight hamstrings.  When attempting the Quad Stretches, I can barely grasp my ankle.  If I'm not careful, I can roll this into a groin issue.  Have any of you tied a rope or strap to your ankle at first so as to lengthen the pull?

My other problem is with the PSOAS Stretching.  There is no doubt that I need an exercise like this because of my groin tightness, but my hamstring begins to go into a "Charlie horse" before I can even see what this exercise is supposed to do.  Has anyone dealt with this problem?

thanks

One large piece of advice, warm up before you do any stretching. Walk a bit, ride a stationary bike, dance, do something to generate a light sweat.