+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Newbie here....  (Read 3585 times)

B.I.L.L.

Newbie here....
« on: July 30, 2008, 01:11:11 PM »
Hey everybody, I'm brand new to this board, hopefully I can get some honest, un-biased info and return the favor after my surgury. Heres where I'm at.  I'm 49 years old and scheduled for a hip resurfacing 9-22-08.  I have Kaiser Permamente insurance so pretty much thats the choice as far as wich dr.  The dr.'s name is Gurbir Chhabra and he works out of the kaiser office in Fontana, Ca.  When I first met him in january of this year he had done about 15 resurfacings.  I scheduled at the end of summer because I clean and repair swimming pools/equipment and wanted to wait for my "Slow time".  I am waiting to hear back from him to find out wich brand of implant he uses, so don't have any info on that yet, but my main question is what are the major differences between glueing vs bone fixation ?  I have heard that the glue breaks down over time and can "coat" the bone and prevent the bone from ("grafting" ?)  to the implant ?   And that "bone fixation"  is a much better option ?   The nurse at kaiser seemed to think that they glue their implants.  I am very active at work, I constantly walk and bend over all day everyday, so I want to get the strongest, best bond as possible.   Thanks for your help, and looking forward to talking to you guys, See ya, B.I.L.L.  ;D           

Vicky

Re: Newbie here....
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2008, 01:23:12 PM »
Hi,