+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: When to have surgery?  (Read 2464 times)

captainahab

When to have surgery?
« on: March 04, 2018, 10:04:23 PM »
 I'm new to the discussion.  I've had a "sore" hip for over 10 years, but was always able to bike, hike, swim, and generally be on by feet all day every day.   Last year after an 80 mile backpacking trip, the right hip started to really hurt.  Still I didn't limp, but I stopped all the exercise I had been doing to get ready for the aforementioned hike.  I was climbing steps for hours and walking 15 miles with a pack.  Maybe that was too much, but this year it seemed to catch up.  Since it was hurting I started to swim instead.  The hip hurt so much worse!  The kick of the side stroke and that same kick as I swam overhand made the symptoms much worse.  Stopped that and the symptoms got  better.  Radiographs say my hip is bone on bone.  I have trouble tying my shoelaces.  Putting my right ankle on my knee is pretty limited and sometimes very painful.  Lifting my foot off the floor and to the gas pedal in the car sometimes hurts.  All that but then some weeks everything seems fine.  I'm 67 and always been active.  Are there certain symptoms or tests that definitely say "Get your hip fixed!!"  Or is it just up to me to do when ever I want.  It would seems keeping my natural hip as long as possible is desirable, but then I am getting older every single day.  Just retired and want to do things besides be laid up with the post-surgery months of rehabilitation.  I need advice or encouragement on what others have done with similar decisions to make.

blinky

Re: When to have surgery?
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2018, 07:10:15 AM »
I think you are ready. Time to start interviewing doctors.

Your X-ray shows bone on bone, you can't do things you love, you are beginning to have trouble with everyday activities. And you are 67.