+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: What's the plan when HR Prosthetic fails?  (Read 1946 times)

suncag

What's the plan when HR Prosthetic fails?
« on: June 08, 2018, 06:12:14 PM »
Hi Everyone,

I have been putting off getting my left hip resurfaced for 4 years now.  I'm an active tennis player, 52 now and was 48 when the hip osteoarthritis set in.  I agree HR is far superior to THR and have met with Dr. Gross to discuss getting mine done.  I've tried everything to put off surgery (Hyaluronic Acid injections were the most successful out of everything I tried but after 3 rounds of them, they have lost their efficacy).  I recently tried stem cells and that did nothing at all. 

So my question is this:  Am I the only one who's asking "What's the plan after the HR prosthetic fails?"  I'm told that the most I can hope to get out of an HR is about 15 years if I don't play tennis (which is the whole reason I'm getting it in the first place) or less than 10 if I do play tennis.  So what happens when I'm 62, still want to be active and the HR prosthetic fails?  All I get for an answer to his is a shoulder shrug.  Isn't anyone else worried about the long term plan?  Is it just to get a THR?

Anyone who is willing to share their thoughts on why they went ahead with HR knowing that they would outlive the prosthetic, I would be grateful to understand your thinking.  Maybe I'm missing something? 

On another topic, has anyone looked into this "sleeve" breakthrough in Germany?

[/size][size=78%] [/size]
https://www.medica-tradefair.com/cgi-bin/md_medica/lib/pub/tt.cgi/Hip_joint_sleeve_versus_endoprosthesis.html?oid=84518&lang=2&ticket=g_u_e_s_t

Is this what Andy Murray had done?  Or did he get a resurfacing?   

Many thanks!
Chris

catfriend

Re: What's the plan when HR Prosthetic fails?
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2018, 11:33:40 PM »