+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: running issue  (Read 1139 times)

robbo1

running issue
« on: February 07, 2019, 05:47:12 PM »
Hello everyone, I am new to the forum, and I was wondering if anyone can give me some advise please. I am 12mths post hip-resurfacing surgery and I am doing very well. I have  a couple of questions, of which are regarding running and post op exercises. My background is one of club runner for many years, and fit and healthy. I have been cycling regularly and started to run twice a week, I am running up to just over 4 miles now, but experiencing a dull ache half way through the 4 mile run. Is this normal?  I did not start running until 10mths post op. Also when doing a stretching exercise where I try and bring knee to chest at a certain point I get some pain/restriction/clicks before I can move my knee further to chest. Hope this is as clear as possible for anyone to be able to give me some advise

Many thanks in anticipation

Robbo1

Saddlepal3

Re: running issue
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2019, 10:41:43 AM »
Robbo1, I’m sure there are other runners on this forum that will chime in; however, I think you are experiencing normal symptoms. It takes a year for things to heal up but that doesn’t address tight muscles. My suggestion: keep up the stretching, but don’t force anything. Reduce your running mileage for now. Go to 2 miles 3-4 times/week, or 3 miles 2-3 times/week. Keep listening to your body. Good luck.

blinky

« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2019, 01:02:57 PM »
I agree. Give it time. I don't have a magic bullet answer. Things you could try: massage including myofascial massage like ART, stretching, running less at a time but more often, PT targeting any weaknesses you feel now like in glutes or abs.

I am three plus years out and feel like I am still making progress in running. It hasn't always been linear for me. 

MattJersey

« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2019, 01:39:04 PM »