+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Decisions Decisions  (Read 1882 times)

Anthony J

Decisions Decisions
« on: September 02, 2019, 04:12:25 PM »
Hello All,

I'm new to this, but am very impressed with this website.  I found out about it through a friend who had a HR 9 years ago with Dr. Gross.  I'm scheduled for bilateral THR in November with a local surgeon, but this was scheduled before I found out about HR.r  I was told that I would have no restrictions other than running.  I'm a runner so this was not great news.  I have subsequently sent in a package with my x rays to Dr. Gross.  Most health care people in my area (Maine) say that I should have the surgery done locally for many good reasons. I'm waiting to hear from Dr. Gross, but from what I have read about HR, I'm encouraged that I may be able to run again if I am a candidate for a HR.  Only my left hip really bothers me with pain, but my x-rays show that both hips look identical.  The local surgeon suggested that I do both to get it over with, and only deal with one recovery period. He has done many THR with great success, and only one dislocation.  I'm an active 55 year old, and enjoy lots of activities. My favorite is running so the idea of not being able to run again is a tough one for me.  The more research that I do tells me that HR would be a great way to go if I'm a candidate.  I don't see myself doing another Marathon, but it would be nice to have the option to run a few shorter distances again. The only down side to a HR vs THR for me is traveling to get this done, and additional expense of this route.  My gut tells me that it would be worth the added hassles of travel.  My Dr. friends point out that should I have complications, it is much easier to deal with this locally, however the risk for this seems very low.  So my thoughts are that the benefits of a HR for me over a THR out way the small risk associated with having a complication from having a procedure done out of town.  I think the complicat