+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: My journey with Osteoarthritis and my journey to get rid of it  (Read 3430 times)

ad313tg

I am a 62 year old male. I have been very active all my life. My main physical activity is long distance cycling both on the road and on the trails here in Northeast Ohio during March to November. During November to March I hike in a wooded area and hike 5-6 miles per day. I have been cycling since 1982 and a normal year of cycling mileage will range during a slow year at 4,000 miles and my good years, over 9,000. I have 4 bikes, a 1995 Bike Nashbar Tandem, a 1998 Trek United States Postal road bike, a 2000 Trek Mountain Bike and my 2014 Pinarello 65.1 Dogma road bike.

This will be a multi-part series and I will take you up to my 6 week post-op follow-up (I see the staff on August 27th, in one more week, but who’s counting, me).I will then post updates for this series when something that I think might help others comes along during my recovery.

I hope this helps others if they are thinking about surgery, are in the middle of recovery or working up to that 1 year post-op anniversary.

Osteoarthritis Diagnosis/Treatments

I was first diagnosed with Osteoarthritis of both of my hips about 3 years ago after I saw a Rheumatologist for the first time and he took X-rays of both hips. My Dr started me on Celebrex twice a day and after about a year I started getting Cortisone injections in my right hip. About a year later, I started getting Cortisone injections in both hips. The injections would start working after 3-5 days and I would mostly be pain-free. The injections would last about 4-6 months. I knew that the injections would only work for so long and that eventually I was going to need hip surgery.

My Introduction to Birmingham Hip Resurfacing