+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: initial consultation appt coming up  (Read 1611 times)

embcrna05

initial consultation appt coming up
« on: October 18, 2008, 03:49:13 PM »
Hi there,
I've been following the website for a few months now.  This is my second posting.  My husband made the decision to have a hip resurfacing done soon.  We have a consultation appt with Dr. Su in NY on Oct 29.  Initially, my husband made the decision to go ahead, based on wanting a better quality of life.  Now he is having hip pain all the time.  Our initial goal was to get the procedure done prior to the end of the year, but that may not be possible, with the dr's schedule.  We started communicating with the office, sending records, etc in early September.  Anyway, I am a little nervous in meeting the dr, asking questions, etc.  I administer anesthesia for a living, but being on this end of it puts me in the position of so many others.  When it is your family member, all logic and common sense goes out the window.  I know of the dr's credentials and reputation, but I still wanted us to meet with him and discuss things prior to actually having surgery.  Now I am thinking, "what if we don't like him, or if he seems not at all what we expect?"  Then we have to start the process all over again.  Plus, I am anxious for my husband to get pain releif. 
I appreciate all you out there who are part of this site.  It has been a wonderful source of support and information.  I do have one major question here---have you gotten pretty immediate pain relief with this procedure?  At first we wanted my husband to have a better quality of life.  Now we want pain relief---yesterday.  Thanks everyone.

stevel

Re: initial consultation appt coming up
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2008, 04:31:40 PM »