+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: scheduled for THR 1-5-09  (Read 1908 times)

cindy26

scheduled for THR 1-5-09
« on: November 08, 2008, 09:04:46 AM »
Well I finally got my date for my THR.  It is schedule for 1pm on jan 5.  I am really nervous.  I just really wished that I could have done the resurfacing instead.  One of the anthesiologists I work for said I should get a second opinion.  Dr Jenkins (Ortho) said in his office notes that I got and read, that with the severe deformity of the femoral neck and head that it is not possible.  He said that after looking at my MRI.  Does this make since?  I think it does because the resurfacing is actually using the same neck just a different ball and with the THR the neck is removed and a cermanic one put in.  Am I correct there.  I am a nurse and I am very nosey so I always request my records about a week after they are done.  What scares me is in the note he said I am not a good candidate for the hip replacement either because of my age and history of slipped capital femoral epiphysis.  His note says I have Right hip severe degenerative joint disease and severe deformity of the neck and head of the femur.  Do you chance that the replacement is going to work?  I know the resurfacing is totally out of the question.  He mentioned to me that most drs would not want to do a THR on me because of my age but because of the condition of my hip and the severity of my pain that he is willing to do this.  Alot of drs drive me crazy.  I know they have supposing have "your" best intrest in mind, but come on just because you are 26 doesn't mean that you need to hurt all of the time to you get in the older range to replace.  I barely can put on socks and shoes and thats only slip on shoes.  If I had to tie them there would be no way and shaving my legs is totally out of the question (sorry men).  I do good to make it 8 hrs at work and usually only 3-4 is some walking the rest is sitting because they are trying to work with me and let me