+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: post op concern  (Read 3348 times)

vanessa0908

post op concern
« on: January 21, 2008, 12:10:41 PM »
 :) Hi everyone, i`m a newbie here,
         I had total hip resuface done on 4th jan this year. I think it gone ok but i have a concern that whilst sitting or lying down i cannot raise my leg more than an inch of the floor and it takes all my strength to do this and its extremly painful, but i can lift my leg a good foot no problem at all when i`m standing.My concern is driving as i have a manuel car and need my left leg for the clutch :-\.Is this the norm or should i contact my consultant. Thanks Vanessa

Pat Walter

• Patricia Walter
  • Administrator
  • Owner/Webmaster of Surface Hippy
    • Surface Hippy about Hip Resurfacing
Re: post op concern
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2008, 12:49:53 PM »
Hi Venessa

You are only 2 weeks post op if I understand your message. 

Goodness - that is very early in your recovery.  It will take you many weeks before you can lift your operated leg from the bed into the air any distance. I was more than 4 weeks post op before I could lift my leg very much.  I was also not able to do the abduction exercise where you move your leg out to the side on your operated side.

There are many muscles that have to heal and it takes a whole year or more for eveyrthing to heal.  Most people get a lot of their MOM back after 6 weeks or so - but it takes time.  Some people heal quickly and others much more slowly. There seems to be no reason why we all heal at different rates.

Most doctors won't let their hip resurfacing patients drive for several months - especially if you have to operate a clutch with your operated hip.  You just don't have the strength or agility to do so.

I drove 12 days post op - but I had my right hip done and drove an automatic car.

Have you talked with your surgeon about this.  I am sure they will not release you to drive.