+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Loose Acetabular cup causes revision to THR  (Read 27502 times)

Gary

Loose Acetabular cup causes revision to THR
« on: February 09, 2008, 10:23:32 AM »
Hi,
I am new to this web site, so I'm just jumping in here.  My story is that I recieved a bhr hip last may.  I am experiencing pain on the out side of my hip after sitting.  It takes several minutes (10-15 ) to walk off.  given the time and space to walk around the pain will subside and I will feel great.  Able to do most anything.  Run, jump whatever.  After getting up from the sitting position the pain has gotten to the point where I need a cane to manuver.  I am schdueled for a thr revision surgery next monday Feb 28.  My doctor feels the acetabular cup is moving, that the bone did not grow onto the surface to stabilize it, but won't know for sure until he can open me up and look again.  I have read in a report on bhr on the internet that there is a acetabular cup with rim screws for displacia patients. My question is has anybody heard of revising the bhr by replacing the cup with the displacia cup with rim screws.  Why do a full hip replacement if the bhr can be repaired??  This thought has been haunting me since the doctor said I need the thr any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2008, 04:54:21 PM by Pat Walter »

Pat Walter

• Patricia Walter
  • Administrator
  • Owner/Webmaster of Surface Hippy
    • Surface Hippy about Hip Resurfacing
Re: Loose Acetabular cup causes revision to THR
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2008, 11:11:55 AM »
Hi Gary

Welcome to Hip Talk. I started a new topic for you because this is very important.

One thing I can tell you is I know of a lady from the Yahoo Surface Hippy Group that had a loose acetabular cup.  The surgeon did make a second surgery to replace the cup only - he did not make the revision to a THR.