+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: I don't have a PT  (Read 2116 times)

rbrill

I don't have a PT
« on: April 18, 2008, 12:45:30 PM »
I'm male, 45yrs old in excellent physical shape.  My doc said that I wouldn't require anything more than work at home on the exercises they gave me at the hospital.   Do the exercises and make sure I'm moving about on my crutches and things will come together for me fairly quickly.

Should I press for a bona fide PT? 

Clarkefan

Re: I don't have a PT
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2008, 01:20:36 PM »
Standard qualifier: I'm no expert and would not presume to dispense medical advice. But at 42 years old and 3 weeks post op, I can tell you my experience with a physical therapist has been relatively uninspiring. Primarily, I do the exercises I was prescribed and walk as much as I can (just strolled for about 1 mile with my crutch). The first time the therapist came to my home it was helpful (I could ensure I was doing things correctly, and I needed a hand with one or two of the exercises). By the second time, however, she mostly sat and watched me do what I was doing on my own anyway. My doctor didn't allow much leeway in my exercises (nothing fancy or advanced yet), so she really didn't have that much to contribute. For the past 21 days, I have dutifully performed all my exercises twice a day, and they're getting very easy (except for the knee pain, but that's only when I go to my fully allowed range of motion).

In two weeks, if the X-rays look good, I'll move on to out-patient PT with some more advanced moves. I sense I'll need the help and guidance at that point.

rlm869

« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2008, 06:37:38 PM »