+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Am I Crazy ? Hope to play hockey again.  (Read 12100 times)

bciam

Am I Crazy ? Hope to play hockey again.
« on: April 21, 2008, 04:12:25 PM »
I wasn't sure exactly where to post, but I would describe myself as a hockey player / triathlete so I figured this is probably the best place. 

I have been accessing this site for about the last 7 months as that was about the time I was diagnosed with OA in both hips.  My quick story: I am 35 yrs old and about 6-yrs ago I felt my first "twinge" in my right hip while trying to extend it out to the side.  Figuring it was a sports injury I tried rehabing myself (I know more than any doctor right ?).  Well as you might suspect over the next 6-yrs I gradually lost more mobility and pain increased and when this September my left hip started I finally got the x-ray and was informed of the OA.  I just had a FAO procedure done on my left hip in hopes of saving that hip at least for a while, but after much consideration I also scheduled a BHR resurfacing for June on the right hip.

I have read just about everything on this site as well as spoken to several doctors and have convinced myself that this is the right decision, but I am beggining to worry that I am too young.   

Looking for support and/or any folks around my age who have had the procedure done :)
« Last Edit: June 20, 2008, 10:22:55 PM by Pat Walter »

Clarkefan

Re: Am I Crazy ?
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2008, 04:50:23 PM »
Crazy? No. But you are correct that it's a major decision and the long-term (20-30 year... 40-year I hope) data simply don't exist (at least to my knowledge).