+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Re: Questions from a Newbie  (Read 4019 times)

hollyk

Re: Questions from a Newbie
« on: June 06, 2008, 03:14:17 PM »
I am new to this web site also. I am of similar size, and and was diagnosed 2 years ago. I have gone from a little pain, to a major limp, cysts in bone and megga pain. My doctor is a very qualified replacement surgeon but has done about 15 re-surfacing. I am scheduled for 2 weeks from yesterday and am getting nervous about whether I should have done more research..I will be interested to see the responses from the experienced "hippies!"

Pat Walter

• Patricia Walter
  • Administrator
  • Owner/Webmaster of Surface Hippy
    • Surface Hippy about Hip Resurfacing
How much research should I do?
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2008, 05:40:10 PM »
Hi Holly

Welcome to Hip Talk.  I gave you your own topic.

I always recommend using a really experienced surgeon.  Some people, however, either can't due to their insurance, or simply like the surgeon they have choosen.

If you don't have any nagging feelings that things are not right - then you should go with your choice.

The newer surgeons have brought the revision rate of the BHR down from 99.9 to 96% since they joined the rest of the world. Most of these problems occur early on in their learning curve.  So that is the main reason we experienced hippies suggest doctors that have done at least 100 resurfacings.  They should have learned by then.  Some doctors never have problems, while some have quite a few.  The only way to know is to ask them.  However with only 15, he/she doesn't have much of a record to talk about. Also the real problems don't often show right after surgery - it sometimes takes months to show up.

In reality the chance is only 4 out of 100 people possibly having problems according to the statistics.  If you feel comfortable, then don't worry about it.

It is really up to you.  Who is your surgeon?