+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Knock Knock  (Read 2553 times)

B.I.L.L.

Knock Knock
« on: November 20, 2008, 12:44:48 PM »
Hey you guys, I'm curious how long you guys (and gals) had that knocking/slipping feeling.  I seem to have pain right on the outside of my hip and it "knocks" with almost every step.  I started riding the stationary bike this week but it was doing it before that.  I'll be 9 weeks out on monday. Is that what most of you experienced ?  Some days are better than others.  Just wondering how long I should expect it to go on, Thanks, Bill.

John C

Re: Knock Knock
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2008, 12:13:13 PM »
I have heard that this gradually decreases with time. My own experience was that I had major "clunking" deep in the joint over the first few weeks. The next few weeks had a more irregular "clicking" on the outside of the joint when I walked, associated with pain on the outside. Over the next few months I experienced an occasional minor "slip/click" when I turned certain ways. Now, at five months, I will sometimes have a very subtle clicking when I first start walking, but it always goes away after awhile.
I had a LOT of trouble with the pain you describe on the outside, often with the click feeling, over the first six weeks. It pretty much went away in the six to nine week period, but will sometimes come back to a minor degree if I push it too hard.
Based on my experience so far, I am sure that we can both look forward to continued improvement.
John
John/ Left uncemented Biomet/ Dr Gross/ 6-16-08
Right uncemented Biomet/Dr Gross/ 4/25/18

stevel

« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2008, 02:11:07 PM »
Bill,

I'm nearly 8 weeks post-op, LBHR Dr. Su, and I have had no clunking, knocking or squeaking.  The implant feels so normal, I can't tell the difference between the feeling for my right hip.  I've read elsewhere that the "breaking in" period can extend for two years.
Steve
LBHR 60mm/54mm Dr Su 9/29/08 age 55
RBHR 60mm/54mm Dr Su 11/1/19 age 66