+-

Advertisement

Author Topic: Bilat Surgery Scheduled with Dr. Gross for 3/16 and 3/19  (Read 7753 times)

uberalan

• We can rebuild him, make him better than before.
Bilat Surgery Scheduled with Dr. Gross for 3/16 and 3/19
« on: February 22, 2009, 04:06:02 PM »
Hello.  I am a newbie on this board.

I am 56 years old male. I have been physically active up until about a year ago when my OA suddenly become much worse. Before then my right hip had been sore and stiff for about the last 5 years, but manageable. During that time, I was able to ski, hike and do heavy yard work and maintain a pretty rigorous workout routine of cardio 3 days/week alternating with strength training 3 days/week along with some yoga thrown in for flexibility.

However, last January, my left  hip in a matter of a couple of days became as sore and stiff as my right hip and then the right hip become progressively worse. It has been a miserable 13 months since then as we have been in the processes of moving from Washington DC area to Denver and I am practically a cripple, but I have had to push getting our old house ready for sale, then during the move and now with all the projects that come with a new home. The last couple of weeks it's about all I can do to make it through the day at work, which fortunately is a desk job . I have a terrible limp that everyone seems to want to comment on.  The only physical I activity I can muster that doesn't hurt is swimming. I have been trying to swim a mile every other day to try to stay in shape.

I went to a doctor in Virginia last February who tried to steer me toward a THR, saying the hip resurfacing (HR) was too new, unproven and required a bigger incision and longer recovery. He said he did only THR, but would refer me to another OS who did the HR, if I really wanted to pursue it. He recommended I live with the pain for as long as possible before having the THR.